Home | Apartment Rental | La Cruz | Sailing Charters | Reservations | Calendar | Reviews

Welcome to Sailor's Rest reviews! Please see reviews from many of our previous guests below.
A Wonderful Place To Visit
We just spent an amazing month at Mary Ann's & Richard's casa. It has everything you need to make you feel at home. It exceeded all our expectations. Just a short walk to catch a bus or the marina to purchase fresh fish. Located across from a little coffee shop. We love LA Cruz & Sailors Rest. Would highly recommend staying here. Will not be disappointed. - Bruce & Rose
Stay Date: Jan 1st, 2017 Reviewed by: Rose O. Reviewed on: Feb 15, 2017
My Response:
Thanks so much Bruce and Rose for the lovely review. Richard and I enjoyed getting to know you and sharing our little corner of paradise. We hope you come back and see us again sometime for another little respite from those Minnesota winters.
Authentic and Charming
We stayed in Mexico many times but this was our first time in La Cruz. We had a really nice stay in this home and it's fair to say that the pictures don't do it justice. It's quite spacious, had everything we needed and located very close to the beach. Mary Ann and Richard were great hosts. They were very responsive and wonderful to have close by for anything that could come up. One our favorite days on our trip was having them take us on a 4 hour tour around the bay on their sailboat - we even saw whales! La Cruz has an incredible authentic Mexican charm to it with a beautiful marina and if you're looking for fine dining, you'll find that there as well! If you're thinking of staying in La Cruz for any amount of time, we would highly recommend this beautiful home.
Stay Date: Dec 23, 2016 Reviewed by: Sam S. Reviewed on: Jan 3, 2017
My Response:
Sam and Anya thank you so much for the great review. As we always say, it takes wonderful renters to make our job easy and you two were just delightful. We hope to see you back with us again some day.
Highly Recommend!
We had a fantastic stay at Sailor's Rest! I would highly recommend staying here when traveling to La Cruz! With a short walk to the beach and to town center, it makes the perfect location for travelers without a car. Mary Ann and Dick have ensured that the apartment is stocked with anything and everything you could need. The private patio and pool provide a wonderful setting for meals and relaxation. We will definitely be back!
Stay Date: Dec 11, 2016 Reviewed by: Kelsey D. Reviewed on: Jan 7, 2017
My Response:
Thanks so much Kelsey and Austin. Happy to hear you enjoyed yourselves at Sailor's Rest. It was a pleasure to have you with us and to share our wonderful little puebla with you. Please come back and see us in the future.
PERFECT PLACE TO ENJOY LA CRUZ
Mary Ann and Dick are excellent hosts, their years of experience in the hospitality industry certainly shows. The apartment is very well appointed, we especially enjoyed the kitchen. The bedroom has plenty of storage, both hanging and drawers. The king size bed is very comfortable and the weekly cleaning that Mary Ann does, includes the changing of bedding and linens. The living room has comfortable seating, to watch movies or read. Our granddaughter came to visit for a few days and the murphy bed was excellent, with a full size mattress, that she said was very comfortable. We appreciated always having very hot water to use, and all the paper products, and selection of spices that were there for us to use. The patio pool area is wonderful, with all the plants and the water is even heated. It is a beautiful place to have your meals and just spend time. There are all sorts of birds that we saw also, that make being out by the pool special. The location is great, with just a short walk to the beach, or any store that you would need. We highly recommend this apartment, if you are lucky enough to get a reservation.
Stay Date: Oct 31, 2016 Reviewed by: Poohny Reviewed on: Jan 6, 2016
My Response:
What delightful guests you were Rick and Linda and thank you so much for the most generous review. One of the pluses of being owners onsite is getting to know our wonderful guests and it was our pleasure to get to know the two of you. Loved the fact that we were entertained daily by ukelele or harmonica and it was fun to see you get so involved in the community while you were here. We would love to have you back with us again someday, in addition to possibly seeing you this summer in Montana.
The REAL Mexico Experience
The accommodation is excellent and provided everything one needs -- including relaxing in our own private backyard pool! It's location at La Cruz is outstanding -- nestled within a "real" Mexican community pretty much devoid of tourist attractions but offering great restaurants, live music, easy access to the beach and situated close to the marina. Local busses provided easy access to Puerto Vallarta, Sayulita and towns in between. The best of all is the care provided by our hosts, Dick and Mary Anne, who attended to our every need. Having lived in Sayulita and now living in La Cruz, they offer a wealth of information about local culture and activities within the communities. Dick tends to ride his bicycle up to 40 miles each day and knows bike routes throughout the area. If you are into swimming, Dick also has a 2-mile swimming route in the bay. For us, the highlight of our trip was sailing in Banderas Bay, followed later in the week by a remote hike to see petroglyphs in the mountains nearby -- all of this hosted by Dick and Mary Anne, completed with snacks, beer and wine and with great conversation about local history and culture. Life does not get better than this! Knowledge of activities in the area guided us to excellent restaurants and great live music in the evenings, to the Sunday market at the marina and to the annual Oyster Festival in the next town. We learned about how to get around in the community -- bus travel, grocery stores, and other shops of interest to us. On our next trip, we have a much better understanding of life and local culture in Nayarit and Jalisco and can't wait to return to Sailor's Rest. Thank you, Dick and Mary Anne, for making our week the best ever!
Stay Date: Mar 29, 2016 Reviewed by: Kathy Reviewed on: Apr 14, 2016
My Response:
Kathy and Ken, thanks so much for your generous and thoughtful review. It was nice to read so many positive things about our little puebla also. We love it here in La Cruz and are pleased our guests feel the same way. It was such a pleasure to have you both and Jeannie and Paul with us for the week---great guests one and all! Please make room for us in your calendar for another visit in the future.
Another Great Stay & Will Be Returning
This was our 4th consecutive long stay at Sailor's Rest and we have already reserved for a two month stay in 2017. As previously stated in a review, there is no better recommendation regarding the quality of the accommodation or the effort made by your host(s) to ensure your stay is comfortable and relaxing. The apartment has everything you will likely require. The town of La Cruz provides you with "the real" local experience from browsing thru the local shops, taking in the Wednesday town market /the Sunday Market at the Marina, the Saturday night music concerts at the Zocalo (town square), or sampling the food and entertainment at the various restaurants, Cafes or street vendors. Mary Ann & Richard are a great source of information regarding the area attractions & where to purchase items you may require. Lastly, the local people are always friendly and the beaches rarely crowded.
Stay Date: Mar 3, 2016 Reviewed by: Tedmar Reviewed on: Apr 7, 2016
My Response:
Thanks so much Bruce and Mary for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Sailor's Rest. Richard and I always enjoy having you with us and, by now, you are like family. Thanks also for the nice comments about our little puebla; it's a great place to live and visit. Looking forward to your next visit in 2017.
Always top notch!
This is our second stay at Sailor's Rest - and that is as good of a recommendation as anything we could say. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and have all that you could need for a stay (1 month this time - maybe more next time!). The kitchen has all the things that you might need, the bed is comfy and even the murphy bed was put to good use during our kids stay with us. When I sent a picture of the pool area to a friend they said that it could be right out of Architectural Digest - and it is a lovely place for morning coffees to hosting suppers with friends. The town offers plenty of restaurants from the "red chairs" street vendor to the high end restaurants like Masala which is just one block away. We always felt safe walking around, day or night, and enjoyed shopping at the Sunday market and the small stores that are on every block. You are close enough to Bucerias or Puerto Vallarta to take a bus for the day or for lunch - very easy to get around. You can make this vacation home a very relaxing stay, or you can be out looking for adventure - you get to choose. A highlight every time we stay is to go sailing with Richard on the Que Sera Sera - don't miss it. You will always feel welcome with Richard and Mary Ann as hosts.
Stay Date: Dec 29, 2015 Reviewed by: Randy & Carol Reviewed on: Feb 2, 2016
My Response:
Carol and Randy, thanks so much for the beautiful and thoughtful review of your stay with us. You were delightful guests, as always, and it was an equal pleasure for us to have you a part of our family for a month. Thanks for noting various great places in La Cruz to eat, since it is a great restaurant town. We look forward to seeing you next year once again when you come to our little puebla.
A Very Relaxing Christmas Break
Our first (and hopefully not our last) stay at Sailors' Rest was absolutely wonderful. Ample sized space for parents and two children aged 7 and 9. Great to have a stable wifi and although we didn't watch any TV we did use their DVD player some evenings. The pool and enclosed garden were well used by the children. Kitchen has everything you could need. We rented a car and days were spent at nearby beaches - Nahui and Careyeros being our favorites. We went to a local pizzeria, Philo's and Falconi's for dinner several times and loved the food and service at all the local stores. We managed to get to Bucerias and Puerto Vallarta twice each to complete the experience. Although we missed Mary Ann and Richard for most of our trip it was very nice to see them on the last day. They were extremely helpful over email and left us in capable hands with their local contacts. Our family would highly recommend this property to anyone.
Stay Date: Dec 22, 2015 Reviewed by: David J. Reviewed on: Jan 6, 2016
My Response:
Many thanks David and Tina for taking the time to post your lovely review. Richard and I wish we could have been at Sailor's Rest the entire time to get to know your family better--perhaps next time. Alma misses the kids I'm sure as she hung around the kitchen door for several days after you left waiting for them to come out and play. We're so happy you enjoyed yourselves and La Cruz and we hope to see you again in the future.
Another perfect vacation at Sailor's Rest
This was our third stay at Sailor's Rest. I tell people that it's the worlds best vacation rental. It's just right for us. With each visit, something has been added to make guests more comfortable. This time, the Wi-Fi was upgraded and some really appealing new art was added. There are several things that set Sailor's Rest apart from other vacation rentals. It's a comfortably large place. There are plenty of towels and bedding. The bed is extremely comfortable. The kitchen is huge and well-equipped. The small private patio with a private pool is excellent. We spend lots of time there. The very best part of staying in this rental? Richard and Mary Ann are fabulous to rent from. They are two of the nicest people! We have already booked our next stay, which is the best review I could possible give.
Stay Date: May 15, 2015 Reviewed by: Sharonna Reviewed on: Jun 8, 2015
My Response:
Good morning Sharon and Bill, Wow! What a great review---we are so grateful to you for taking the time to write this. You are like family now and we are already looking forward to seeing you in 2016. Thanks so much and have a great rest of the year.
A Perfect Spring Break!
Thank you Mary Ann and Richard for making our vacation at the Sailors Rest so memorable. The apartment was more than we could ask for, especially the fully stocked kitchen where we prepared our 'catch of the day' purchased at the local fish market. After a day at the beach we enjoyed cooling off in our private dipping pool and relaxing with a cerveza. Sailing on the Que Sera Sera with Richard was the highlight of our visit and would highly recommend getting onboard for an afternoon adventure. The village of La Cruz is indeed a gem on the bay and we look forward to returning next year. Thanks again for your hospitality!
Stay Date: Apr 7, 2015 Reviewed by: Cathy Reviewed on: Apr 19, 2015
A perfect get away for our family!
We stayed at Sailors Rest for 10 days - I wish it had been much longer! The pool was the perfect temperature in the afternoons for our 10 year old daughter to play in while we read a book or sunbathed in our own private courtyard. The location was perfect - directly across for a cute cafe for a morning bite and at the edge of town so we could get to everything but not hear any evening noises from the various entertainment establishments in town. It was truly a special vacation for us. We have already booked our next time at sailors rest!
Stay Date: Mar 17, 2015 Reviewed by: BJM Reviewed on: Apr 1, 2015
My Response:
Thanks so much Bev for the lovely review. Richard and I enjoyed your family very much and are happy you will be returning in the future. Perhaps another whale adventure is in Maya's future!
A Taste of Mexico With Comfort and Style
This was our third stay at Sailor's Rest, this time for 6 weeks. Once again, our stay was perfect thanks to the efforts of Mary Ann & Richard who more than once went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and provided assistance whenever requested. The apartment makes us feel as if we are returning to our Mexican home and provides everything for a short or extended stay in beautiful La Cruz de Huanacaxtle. Yes, we will be making a return visit next year to Sailor's Rest.
Stay Date: Feb 3, 2015 Reviewed by: BJM Reviewed on: Mar 18, 2015
My Response:
Thank you so much Bruce and Mary for the lovely review. Every time you visit us we enjoy your company (Alma does too!) and are always happy to see you again. May the rest of your winter be a bit warmer and we'll see you again soon. Mary Ann and Richard
A piece of heaven
I will start by saying that the pictures don't make it justice...Sailor's Rest is much more than we expected! Anything that your heart desires Mary Ann & Richard have thought about and you will find it in Sailor's rest. All kinds of kitchen utensils, amenities & accommodations. We are very picky when it comes to cleanliness & I can't think of any other place where we have stayed before that we had absolutely no complaints on that aspect. Even the dipping pool was always clean. Oh and Alma the cat...so gorgeous & friendly. The location is perfect because it's not right on the beach so you get to experience the people & sounds of a typical Mexican coastal town and if you feel like walking to the beach, it's just a couple of blocks away. All the delicious restaurants are at walking distance & there is no shortage of "little tienditas" on every corner so you can buy anything missing for cooking your everyday meals in a very confortable kitchen. Mary Ann & Richard, although most of the time on site, were very respectful of our privacy so we felt like we were in our own home (sometimes even better than at home!). The SKY & CD player were a nice way to find refuge during the hot hours of the day. We had a wonderful vacation & loved Sailor's Rest. We only hope that we can find available dates to go back because I am sure that pretty soon, the word will get around and Sailor's rest will be booked 365 days a year :-(
Stay Date: Apr 14, 2014 Reviewed by: Guillermo & Teresa Reviewed on: Apr 23, 2014
My Response:
Hola Teresa and Guillermo, Thank you so much for the beautiful review! Richard and I loved having you with us; we are just sorry we didn't get to meet your son, Pedro. You are most welcome back any time so please consider a stay at Sailor's Rest in your future. Enjoy your summer and perhaps we'll see you next season.
Wonderful home away from home!
Thanks MaryAnn and Richard for hosting us February 15 to April 15! Our stay was perfect - accommodation clean and well appointed, comfortable bed, everything in working order, refreshing pool and a great location! We enjoyed being amongst the Mexican people with the happy children, crowing roosters, clucking hens and sometimes a barking dog or two. Restaurants, groceries and the beach are all just a short stroll away. Thanks for the evening of cribbage, too. We do hope to return to enjoy Sailor's Rest in the future.
Stay Date: Feb 14, 2014 Reviewed by: Rick & Carol Reviewed on: May 13, 2014
My Response:
Thanks Rick and Carol for taking the time to talk about your stay and we appreciate all the good thoughts. Each time I see the cute little garafon cover I think of you Carol and the one you have back home. You've received some nice compliments on your creation. You and Rick are most welcome to come back and stay with us again when you are back Mexico way.
Perfect. So glad we're coming back.
We agree with everything other reviewers have said...this place is a gem. The listing information is all totally accurate, so there are no nasty surprises. We stayed here for a month, and loved its' comfort, location in town and proximity to the beach. Mary-Ann and Richard are perfect hosts/landlords; available to help and advise when necessary but unobtrusive and respectful of guests own space. Everything is so perfect that we're booked for three more months later this year. Can't wait.
Stay Date: Jan 11, 2014 Reviewed by: Aljo Reviewed on: Feb 14, 2014
My Response:
What a delightful review Jo and Allan. We really appreciate that you enjoyed yourselves during your extended stay at Sailor's Rest, as well as in the community. La Cruz is a great little village that still possesses that Mexican flavor and we love sharing that fact with our guests. Please come see us again during your travels.
This is a lovely rental at a very affordable price
The apartment is VERY spacious, charming and comfortable. The courtyard is a private and sweet getaway for quiet time. Mary Ann and Richard are perfect hosts -- available and helpful in every way, but without invading your privacy. For fair-skinned people, like me, there is a pretty spot on the beach with shade and no vendors. Walk down to the end of Pescador and turn right and, after three yellow bungalows, you will find a stone wall with a line of trees. It is a six-minute walk; bring your beach chairs and enjoy. I highly recommend a sailing afternoon with Mary Ann and Richard. There is something very special about being on the bay with them under sail. As for safety in Mexico, I feel more secure walking around in La Cruz on my own at night than I do in my hometown, Ottawa, which is a very safe city. Enjoy. But don't book the times I want .
Stay Date: Jan 3, 2014 Reviewed by: Jean F. Reviewed on: Jan 11, 2014
what more can be said...
Many of the previous reviews have said all the wonderful things that we would have said about this property and the town of La Cruz. It is a perfect getaway - quiet, clean, safe, homey - and it has lots of options to go out and explore the town and neighbouring communities. The accommodations are top notch. The town is unique and friendly. The restaurants are close by and serve excellent meals. The hosts are knowledgeable and accommodating. It was always lovely walking home after supper and seeing all the lights that Richard and Mary Ann had put up to guide our way back. Highly recommend this place - just don't take the weeks we want!
Stay Date: Dec 20, 2013 Reviewed by: Randy & Carol Reviewed on: Jan 6, 2014
My Response:
Randy and Carol thanks so much for the generous review and Richard and I are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It was great seeing you both and visiting again after a long time and we're happy you liked our little pueblo of La Cruz. Please come back. Your comment about the lights makes me think we should leave them on year round! Take care and try to stay warm.
Wonderful Stay
This is a perfect place to stay. I spent one week and wish I could have stayed for a month. Richard and Mary Ann were so welcoming, the house is very spacious and beautifully decorated. It was a total delight to be there. It's also 3 blocks from the beach and the marina, and is quiet yet close to the center of town. I highly recommend the place.
Stay Date: Dec 13, 2013 Reviewed by: Pascal Reviewed on: Dec 29, 2013
My Response:
Thanks so much Pascal for the beautiful review. It was a pleasure making your acquaintance and, just maybe, we'll see you someday at your home in France. Please come visit us again sometime when you and Sharon can both come to La Cruz. So happy you enjoyed getting to know our wonderful little pueblo.
Great vacation spot!
We spent a wonderful week at Sailor's Rest and couldn't be happier with our decision. The apartment is completely furnished and well appointed with all the goodies that you might need on a quiet Mexican vacation. It's easy walking distance to the whole town, the beach and the marina. The dipping pool in the patio is a pleasant way to cool off after a walk around town, and the solar water heating system should make it nice all year. The town of La Cruz seemed to be considerably less noisy (at least while we were there!) than most Mexican towns and cities we've lived in or visited, so that was a definite plus! Mary Ann and Richard were helpful and friendly, and were a pleasure to have as hosts for our quick week back in Mexico.
Stay Date: Nov 11, 2013 Reviewed by: Baron & Rhonda Reviewed on: Nov 20, 2013
My Response:
Thank you Baron and Rhonda for the lovely review. Living in the middle of a Mexican neighborhood one expects a bit of noise from dogs, chickens, etc. so we are pleased you found your stay relatively quiet. It was a pleasure to have you with us and we hope you include us again in your future plans.
More than you could ask for!!!
A very large and spacious unit. It is much larger and beautiful than the pictures tell. Beach towels, chairs and umbrellas included. The fans and air conditioning are a wonderful retreat when the temperature sore, or if you have done a lot of site seeing or travelled by bus. The dipping pool is a heavenly retreat that is all yours and very private. The kitchen equipment including the fridge and stove make dining in a pleasure, the fish market provides incredible meal possibilities! The King size bed provided a great sleep after all the adventures in the day. The hosts create an informative and welcoming place to ask for questions or assistance. The beach is only a few blocks away and you may be the only ones on it! No one is hassling you to buy things. The Collectivo stand is a block away, so you can tour around easily. The town is so quaint and wonderful. So many fantastic dinning options you will be very surprised!!!
Stay Date: Nov 2, 2013 Reviewed by: Tina C. Reviewed on: Nov 12, 2013
My Response:
We are pleased our guests enjoyed their time with us and also noted some of the treasures offered by our town of La Cruz de Huanacaxtle. It is important that the surrounding town, as well as the rental property, makes visitors feel at home. Thank you for choosing Sailor's Rest and our wonderful little puebla.
a Vacation in "The Real Mexico"
Staying at Sailor's Rest was a really good experience. It is located in "the real Mexico" and yet just a short distance from the dazzling new Marina at La Cruz which has a few nice restaurants and Yacht Club. The day to day experience is safe, clean, and fun. The water truck comes, the gas truck plays a song to tell you to check your supply, a bell jingles and the ice cream truck is at your door in late afternoon, and the good news is that a little Mexican grocery store is just a block and a half away. The hosts are great folks and they were always there to answer our questions, clean the pool, make sure we had access to the laundry and such. We enjoyed getting to know them and felt they knew how to run a rental very well. We recommend this to anyone wanting a "real Mexico" experience. La Cruz is an active little fishing village with a very nice new marina on the ocean's shore near the town square. Jorge's street tacos are amazing! (they are just down the street and around the corner from Wednesday thru Sunday.) We will be recommending this to our friends and family.
Stay Date: Apr 23, 2013 Reviewed by: Tom & Laurie Reviewed on: May 24, 2013
My Response:
Hi Tom and Laurie, We think you have successfully caught the flavor of why we love La Cruz and have chosen to live in this little puebla. Richard and I are so pleased that you enjoyed your vacation with us. It's people like yourselves that make it all worth it. Please come and visit us again and thank you for the most generous review.
We'll be back!
I almost hesitate to review Sailor's Rest. We loved it so much, we have already booked next year. Everything about this rental was just right. It was even better than the pictures! The kitchen is large and well-equipped. The appliances are high quality, unlike many rentals. It was stocked with everything needed. There is a comfortable dining room with seating for six. The living room is beautifully furnished. The comfy couch was a great place to relax with one of the books on the shelf. The bedroom was large with a super comfortable bed. The bedding was top notch, as were the towels in the nice big bathroom. I loved the shower with its stone floor. My favorite thing about Sailor's Rest is the plant-filled patio. We spent most of our time outside enjoying the pool. La Cruz is such a charming town! This rental is in a great location. The beach is a couple of short blocks away. There are quite a few restaurants nearby. Best of all, the fish market is an enjoyable stroll. Richard and Mary Ann couldn't have been nicer. They we extremely helpful and gracious. We look forward to seeing them again!
Stay Date: Apr 16, 2013 Reviewed by: Sharonna Reviewed on: Apr 29, 2013
My Response:
We are so lucky to be in this business mainly because of the quality of our customers and Sharon and Bill you are no exception. It was delightful getting to know you both and look forward to your return visit. Thanks so much for taking the time to write this most generous review.
Great location to stay in La Cruz
Sailors Rest was everything they advertised! Very clean with well supplied kitchen, extremely comfy furniture in Living room, comfortable beds and our very own mini dunking pool. Owners helpful and friendly and the location was so convenient to small stores and restaurants and local pubs that provide great entertainment. Bus was a 5 minute walk away and Mexican neighbourhood was safe. We found it a bit dark as the windows are gray glass (to keep out the sun and heat) but for a short stay I would highly recommend this rental. Very good value for the money and be sure to eat at Taco's on the Street, only a short block and a half away. We loved La Cruz!
Stay Date: Mar 31, 2013 Reviewed by: Smylie Reviewed on: May 28, 2013
My Response:
Hello Elaine and Pat, Thank you so much for the great review. We appreciate all your comments as they help us with quality control. Richard and I are pleased you enjoyed yourselves at our place and in our little pueblo of La Cruz. It was very nice getting to know you both and we hope to see you again sometime. Mary Ann
A Stay to Remember
Our stay of 3 weeks at Sailor's Rest was exceptional. The apartment was immaculate with every convenience available from high quality linens to the modern appliances and entertainment equipment. The most outstanding feature of staying here are the hosts, Mary Ann & Richard. They make you feel at home immediately and are a wonderful resource for local information. The highlight of our stay was the wonderful afternoon sailing with Richard on the Que Sera Sera. For us, who have never sailed before or even been on the ocean, it was an experience of a lifetime and seeing numerous whales was a huge bonus. The town of La Cruz has everything you need from groceries to restaurants and the quality and amount of quality live musical entertainment is impressive. If you visit, make sure to take in the Sunday Market at the Marina, it is one of the best in the entire area. We will definitely be making a return visit to La Cruz and the Sailor's Rest in the near future.
Stay Date: Feb 5, 2013 Reviewed by: Tedmar Reviewed on: Mar 12, 2013
My Response:
Many thanks for your most generous review, Bruce and Mary. We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your vacation in Mexico and Richard and I are looking forward to seeing you again in 2015. We especially enjoyed our personal time together and getting to know you both.
Rest Assured
Sailor's Rest was exactly as described and shown in the photos with attention to every detail to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. Sparkling clean and expertly maintained. Mary Ann and Richard are exceptional hosts and make themselves available to assist in any way. Richard's sailing expertise brought us to within 100 feet of a whale - this sailor never rests - be sure to take an excursion with him!
Stay Date: Dec 31, 2012 Reviewed by: S & Jorje Reviewed on: Feb 8, 2013
My Response:
Thanks so much Sheryn and George for the great review and taking the time to write. It was special getting to meet you both and we really enjoyed our personal time together. Please come visit us again one day and we'll take up where we left off. Best to you both!
Cobblestone Streets, Beach, Sailing, Music ...
Sailor's Rest in La Cruz is a perfect get away to experience a Mexican beach town (with no big-name hotels). La Cruz is on the seaside stretch between Puerto Vallarta and Punta de Mita. From Sailor's Rest in La Cruz you can stroll cobblestone streets to the beach, seafood market, marina, restaurants and music venues. Richard and Mary Ann have done a fantastic job of making Sailor's Rest a spacious, fully equipped apartment that is comfortable for day-to-day living. Richard is a seasoned sailor and we had the opportunity to go sailing in the Bay of Banderas, taking in the fabulous views around the Bay and even saw a whale!
Stay Date: Nov 29, 2012 Reviewed by: Off the Beaten Path Reviewed on: Dec 24, 2012
My Response:
Thanks so much Carl and Debbie for taking the time to review your stay at Sailor's Rest. We enjoyed having you with us and hope to see you again one day. Happy New Year to you and your family! Mary Ann and Richard
My Little Piece of Heaven...
I had the pleasure of making Sailor's Rest, my adopted home for the month of Nov. 2012. As a well seasoned solo traveler, I felt comfortable and safe in La Cruz. Meeting the locals and practicing my Spanish was a particularly rewarding experience for me. Mary Ann and Richard were most friendly and cordial, yet were also appreciative of my privacy. The accommodations were more than I could have asked for! The suite was well supplied with the conveniences of home. Any little hiccups which needed attention were attended to. The suite was very clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated. The kitchen and its modern appliances, as well as gas BBQ, made cooking daily meals a snap. I loved the beautiful courtyard, with dipping pool only steps away. It was a little piece of heaven, especially with temperatures reaching +40C almost daily. I don't believe I've ever slept so peacefully, even with the daily neighbourhood noises. Sailor's Rest is a pleasant walk from the beach, the town centre, fabulous Sunday market at the marina and local bus stop. Negotiating the cobblestone roads can be tricky... watch your footing. As I was the first resident of the season, Mary Ann and Richard were most receptive to my suggestions/ recommendations for future guests. I was disappointed that I missed a sailing experience...perhaps next time! Thank you from the Great White North, Richard and Mary Ann! I look forward to relaxing at Sailor's Rest in the future. Cheers, Anne
Stay Date: Oct 30, 2012 Reviewed by: Solo Canuck Reviewed on: Feb 4, 2013
My Response:
Hello Anne, What a lovely review! Richard and I appreciate you taking the time to do this for us, and we especially look forward to your return. Thanks again! Mary Ann and Richard
I could live there!
We had stayed at the Macondo in Sayulita a few years ago so we knew how nice Richard and Mary Ann can do things. Their new place continues their good taste and wonderful accomodations. They have thought of everything with a beautiful spacious set up including everything a traveler will want or need! It is a short walk to the town square, ocean, and new marina. I liked it because you are staying in a real mexican neighborhood with a little mocha bar across the street. Very non commercial and very cool! Great as a base for a long term stay.
Stay Date: May 2, 2012 Reviewed by: Travelin Dave Reviewed on: May 21, 2012
My Response:
Thank you so much for taking the time to write to us as we are just getting started with our new rental in La Cruz. We appreciate your comments about our former hotel in Sayulita and it is our goal to continue serving our new guests with the same high standards.